Econostrum | Economic News in the Mediterranean

Morocco cancels all flights with France and Spain

Written by Eric Apim on Tuesday, March 30th 2021 à 16:45 | Read 1204 times

Royal Air Maroc planes will not fly to Spain and France until further notice (photo: B.L.)
Royal Air Maroc planes will not fly to Spain and France until further notice (photo: B.L.)
MOROCCO / SPAIN / FRANCE. Faced with the coronavirus pandemic, and to avoid the spread of new variants on its territory, the Moroccan authorities decided, on Monday evening 29 March 2021, to suspend all flights to and from France and Spain, "until further notice".

The measure takes effect on Tuesday 30 March 2021 at 23:59. The Moroccan Ministry of Tourism will however authorise "special flights" (notably business flights) which "will be subject to reinforced controls, in accordance with the sanitary protocol defined by the competent Moroccan authorities", a statement said. For example, fourty-fourths will have to be respected by both passengers and crew.

To facilitate transfers between these countries before the flight ban comes into force, the airline Royal Air Maroc is increasing its connections with Spain and France on Tuesday 30 March 2021. Passengers travelling to a Moroccan airport from France or Spain will benefit "exceptionally" from an exemption from the PCR test before their departure, Royal Air Maroc and Air Arabia Maroc said. On the other hand, the airlines are introducing compulsory Covid-19 tests on arrival for passengers forced to return to Morocco in a hurry.

39 countries banned from flying to Morocco

With these two new destinations, Morocco brings to thirty-nine countries*, its list of banned air links.

It should be noted that maritime links are also suspended between Morocco and France.

At the same time, and for the same health reasons, the Moroccan Ministry of the Interior has announced the closure of the borders of the two Spanish enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla from Monday 29 March 2021 until 30 April 2021.   

* Italy, Belgium, Turkey, Switzerland, Germany, Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Sweden, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, Denmark, United Kingdom, Brazil, Algeria, Egypt, Poland, Norway, Finland, Greece, Lebanon, Kuwait, Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Cameroon, Croatia, Mozambique, Mali, Ghana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Guinea-Conakry, Libya, France and Spain.


About is an independent media that deals with the daily economic news of the countries bordering the Mediterranean. Economic cooperation, business news by sector (Industry, Services, Transport, Environment, Society/Institutions), thematic files, airport news, airlines and shipping companies (new destinations)... are treated and analysed by a team of journalists present in the Mediterranean basin. Subscribe to To be the first to know, with unlimited access to all articles. To receive the weekly newsletters and special newsletters sent as soon as our files are published. Automatically renewable subscription, but the reader keeps control of it or yearly subscription. For individuals or professionals...