Econostrum | Economic News in the Mediterranean



EU leaders finally appoint their four main representatives

Christine Lagarde is appointed for the European Central Bank (photo: F.Dubessy)
Christine Lagarde is appointed for the European Central Bank (photo: F.Dubessy)
EUROPEAN UNION. On the evening of Tuesday 2 July 2019, the Heads of State and Government meeting within the Council of Europe in Brussels finally reached agreement on the four key posts of the European Union.

German Defence Minister Ursula von der Leyen (61) has been chosen to take over the post of President of the European Commission (occupied by Luxembourg's Jean-Claude Juncker) and Spanish Foreign Minister Josep Borrell (72) will take over the post of High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs from Italy's Federica Mogherini.

The Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel (44) has been appointed President of the European Council to succeed Donald Tusk.

Christine Lagarde (63), Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), will take over as head of the European Central Bank (ECB) from Italy's Mario Draghi. Nicolas Sarkozy's former French Minister of Economy and Finance will temporarily leave her post at the IMF during the period of her appointment. The current Deputy Managing Director, David Lipton, will act as interim Managing Director.

However, the European Parliament has yet to validate these proposals, which are the result of forty-eight hours of negotiations. The MEPs will also have to appoint their president, as well as 14 vice-presidents and five quaestors. For the perch, four candidates have declared themselves: Jan Zahradil (Czech Republic), David-Maria Sassoli (Italy), Sira Rego (Spain) and Ska Keller (Germany).

Frédéric Dubessy

Wednesday, July 3rd 2019

Article read 35 times

Articles which should interest to you
< >

Thursday, September 2nd 2021 - 18:24 EBRD appoints two new directors in Morocco and Tunisia